The state of New York strictly prohibits leaving the scene of an accident. That is why if you are charged, you will need to retain the services of an experienced Nassau County criminal defense attorney today. Our firm is on your side no matter what.
How does New York define a leaving the scene of an accident charge?
In New York, leaving the scene of an accident has severe penalties. After an accident, it is important that you stop your vehicle and swap insurance information with the other party. Furthermore, if either of you contacts the police at the scene, you must delay for them to arrive.
If you leave the scene of the accident without trading insurance information or if you do stay and wait for the police to arrive after an accident, you will likely face harsh legal consequences. This also contains traditional hit-and-run accidents when the driver responsible for an accident strikes another vehicle and flees the scene. If you are in a parking lot or strike an empty vehicle or another object, it is required that you make a good faith effort to find the owner or to make sure that your insurance information is left behind. You can do this by placing your insurance information on the vehicle for the other driver to find. You should trade information even if small damage is done to the vehicle. You must also inform the police of the accident. The police will inform you about whether or not they will come to the scene of the accident for a police report or if you are capable of leaving.
What can happen if you leave the scene of an accident in New York?
If you leave the scene of an accident in New York you can face the following penalties:
- Fines of between $0 and $250 for property damage and between $250 and $5,000 for personal injury.
- A surcharge of $88 to $93 if a driver leaves the scene of an accident.
- Jail time, depending on the circumstances of the accident. This can mean up to 15 days in jail for a driver who just leaves the scene of an accident involving property damage.
- Leaving the scene of an accident in New York involving personal injury is a criminal offense, which implies that you can get a criminal record if sentenced.
- Leaving the scene of the accident will add 3 points to your license. If you leave the scene of an accident with injuries, you may also lose your license for up to a year.
- Your insurance rates can be increased for a conviction to this offense.
If you were charged or would like to learn more about this offense, reach out to our experienced Nassau County criminal defense attorneys.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED NEW YORK FIRM
Whether you need a Nassau County Criminal Defense Lawyer or traffic ticket attorney, The Law Office of Jacob A. Rudman is here to help. Our firm has significant experience representing clients facing a wide range of criminal charges, including DUIs, drug crimes, domestic violence, assault, juvenile crimes, and more. If you have been issued a traffic ticket, it is important to contact us today. We zealously represent clients facing tickets for speeding, reckless driving, driving without a license, and those caught using a mobile device. Contact us today to schedule your first consultation with our trusted legal team.