What are the Penalties for Reckless Driving in New York?

What are the Penalties for Reckless Driving in New York?

New York takes reckless driving very seriously, which is why the penalties are so severe. If you were charged with reckless driving, it is in your best interest to reach out to our experienced New York criminal defense attorneys to fight for you and your future.

What is reckless driving in New York?

In the state of New York, reckless driving refers to “operating a motor vehicle in a manner that unreasonably interferes with the free and proper use of the public highway, or unreasonably endangers users of the public highway.” If you have been charged with reckless driving, it is likely that you will face serious fines as a result.

What happens if I am charged with reckless driving in New York?

You may face severe life-altering consequences if you are charged with reckless driving in New York. It is also important to understand that the penalties will increase as the amount of additional reckless driving offenses increases. The penalties for reckless driving in New York include the following:

  • First offense: You may spend up to 30 days in jail and face fines between $100 and $300. You may also receive up to 5 points on your license.
  • Second offense within 18 months of a previous offense: You may spend up to 90 days in jail and face fines between $100 and $525. You will most likely also receive up to 5 points on your license.
  • Third offense within 18 months of the first: You may spend up to 180 days in jail and face fines between $100 and $1,125. You may also receive up to 5 points on your license.

What will happen if I get points on my driver’s license?

After you have been charged with reckless driving, you will likely receive points on your license, meaning your insurance premiums will increase. This can indicate that your ticket will cause you to have months or even years of expenses. Also, if someone has 6 or more points on their license within 18 months, they will likely need to pay a $100 annually fine for 3 years. If you have accumulated 11 or more points on your license within 18 months, you are at risk of license suspension.

Contact our skilled New York firm today to consider your options and how our attorneys can best fight these charges. Our firm is dedicated to ensuring you and your future are protected.

Contact Our Experienced New York Firm

Whether you need a Nassau County Criminal Defense Lawyer or traffic ticket attorney, The Law Office of Jacob A. Rudman is here to help. Our firm has significant experience representing clients facing a wide range of criminal charges, including DUIs, drug crimes, domestic violence, assault, juvenile crimes, and more. If you have been issued a traffic ticket, it is important to contact us today. We zealously represent clients facing tickets for speeding, reckless driving, driving without a license, and those caught using a mobile device. Contact us today to schedule your first consultation with our trusted legal team.

Read Our Recent Blog

View More