It has been said that to err is human, to forgive is divine. However, some errors also happen to be crimes, and New York is by no means forgiving. Already, you have faced a number of penalties that have handicapped your ability to work, go to school or receive adequate health care. If you have been arrested for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, please read on. Then, contact an experienced Nassau County DUI lawyer to learn if your car will be seized following a DUI in New York.
Will you have to forfeit your car following a DUI in New York?
According to the laws of the state of New York, an arrest for driving while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs or alcohol can lead to criminal charges and the police immediately impounding your vehicle and bringing forfeiture proceedings. After the arrest, you can obtain your car. However, you will have to pay the forfeiture fees, i.e. the fees for towing and impounding it in a lot.
What are the other penalties for DUI in New York?
If law enforcement stops you for a DUI and you are someone over the age of 21 with a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher, someone over the age of 21 who is driving a commercial vehicle with a BAC of 0.04 percent or higher, or someone who is younger than 21 and has a BAC of 0.02 percent or higher, you will be considered impaired. The penalties are as follows:
- A revoked license for at least 6 months
- Possible fines ranging from $500-$1,000
- Possible jail time up to 1 year
- Potential enrollment in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP) and applicable costs
- A revoked license for at least 1 year
- A $1,000-$5,000 fine
- Potential jail time up to 4 year
- Possible enrollment in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP) and associated costs
Third or Subsequent Offense:
- Fines ranging from $2,000 to $10,000
- Up to 7 years in jail
- Revoked license for at least 1 year (possibly permanent revocation)
- Additional state surcharges
You should know that if you receive a first or second DUI while under the age of 21, you may face the following penalties:
- A revoked license for 6 months (1st offense) or one year (2nd offense) or until the age of 21
- A $125 civil penalty
- A $100 fee to reinstate your license
- Potential enrollment in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP) and associated costs
- Potential ignition interlock device installation and associated costs
Can a Nassau County DUI lawyer help you?
By all means. In fact, reaching out to a skilled Nassau County criminal defense lawyer can help you maintain your innocence until you plead guilty or sustain a conviction. We will fight for you, your rights and your future. Give us a call today.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED NEW YORK FIRM
Whether you need a Nassau County Criminal Defense Lawyer or traffic ticket attorney, The Law Office of Jacob A. Rudman is here to help. Our firm has significant experience representing clients facing a wide range of criminal charges, including DUIs, drug crimes, domestic violence, assault, juvenile crimes, and more. If you have been issued a traffic ticket, it is important to contact us today. We zealously represent clients facing tickets for speeding, reckless driving, driving without a license, and those caught using a mobile device. Contact us today to schedule your first consultation with our trusted legal team.