Nassau County Cell Phone Violation Lawyer
Texting while driving and other cell phone violations can come with very heavy penalties, which is why if you are currently facing such charges, you should strongly consider reaching out to a knowledgeable Nassau County cell phone violation lawyer at once. Contact the Law Office of Jacob A. Rudman today.
Why You Need a Nassau County Cell Phone Violation Lawyer
In New York, it is illegal to use or even hold a cell phone or portable electronic device while you drive unless it is an emergency. As a result, these tickets carry severe penalties. Among the penalties are fines, insurance premium increases, and 5 points assessed against your driver’s license.
At the Law Office of Jacob A. Rudman, our attorneys will fight to protect your rights. Our lawyers understand the law and what’s at stake. In all of our criminal cases, our goal is to get your ticket dismissed and fines reduced. Give us a call to speak with a knowledgeable Nassau County traffic violation lawyer today.
Consequences of Cell Phone Violations in New York State
Cell phone tickets carry severe penalties. A conviction for using or merely holding a cell phone will result in fines, 5 points assessed on your driver’s license, and insurance premium increases. The statute also includes using or holding any other portable electronic device. Such a device may include a GPS computer.
In addition to facing serious fines from the court and DMV, drivers may also lose their licenses. The fines for cell phone violations in New York are listed below:
- First offense: $50 to $200 fine
- Second offense within 18 months: $50 to $250 fine
- Third or subsequent offense within 18 months: $50 to $450 fine
- A potential $93 surcharge per violation
In addition to paying fines, drivers convicted of a cell phone violation will be assessed points on their license by DMV. Individuals who receive 11 points during an 18-month period may have their license suspended or revoked. For drivers with a probationary license, Class DJ, Class MJ, or a learner permit, a cell phone violation conviction will result in a mandatory 120-day driver license or permit suspension.
Consequences of Texting While Driving
Just like a cell phone violation, texting and driving tickets carry serious consequences. If you receive a texting and driving violation and are convicted or plead guilty, you will be assessed five points on your driver’s license. Your insurance premiums may also increase and your license may be suspended for subsequent violations. Just looking at your cell phone in your hand is a violation.
In addition to these penalties, you will be required to pay a fine based on the type of offense. The first offense carries up to $200 in fines. A second offense within 18 months carries up to $250 in fines and a third or subsequent offense within 18 months carries up to $450 in fines. For drivers with a probationary license, Class DJ, Class MJ, or a learner permit, a conviction will result in a mandatory 120-day driver license or permit suspension.
Fighting a traffic ticket is more difficult than it may appear. Hire our experienced Nassau County cell phone violation lawyer and our legal team will work hard to make sure you don’t lose your license. We will see that your fines and penalties are kept to a minimum. This will save you money as having a record for driving while texting is considered a serious offense by automobile insurance companies as well as DMV.
Contact a Nassau County Cell Phone Violations Lawyer
Due to the serious nature of cell phone tickets and moving violations, it is important to hire an experienced law firm as soon as possible. Our lawyers handle all traffic tickets in Nassau County, Suffolk County, and the surrounding areas. We will assess the facts of your case and work to get a reduction of the charges. Contact the Law Office of Jacob A. Rudman today to schedule your initial consultation with our firm.